IDEA Center
09/06/23 30 Hits

Live-in caregiver to provide part-time dementia care, companionship in Wilsonville, OR

Great opportunity for a nursing student! Seeking a trustworthy live-in caregiver and compassionate companion for my dear life partner. She’s a 73-year-old woman who’s entering the moderate stages of dementia. She lives
in her own home and has care needs as follows:

Personal care:

  • Showering (3x/week)

  • Grooming – styling hair (also has hairdresser she sees 2-3 times/month), help brushing her teeth

  • Dressing

  • Independent with toileting - no use of pads/diapers, sometimes needs prompting to get to toilet


  • She’s able-bodied to safely move around her home independently. As she has some upper body weakness, she does need help safely positioning getting into bed and covering herself.

Meal Preparation:

  • Preparing breakfast, lunch, and some dinners (I take her out to dinner or get takeout meals several evenings/week)

Light housekeeping:

  • Dishes, vacuuming, dusting, laundry (in-home washer/dryer; hang/fold/put away clothing)

 Medication management: morning and evening medication, give her probiotics


  • Taking her out for recreational outings, though many activities in neighborhood are walking distance.

 Note: she no longer drives but has a car available.

Physical activity:

  • She enjoys walks in her neighborhood and going to the local senior club for light exercise. Needs help completing her physical therapy exercises.

Cognitive/memory concerns:

  • She’s always been very independent. As her memory is progressively declining, she has increasing confusion as well as periods of fear, anxiety, and irritability – she responds well to reassurance. She should always be accompanied when leaving her home for walks.

She lives in a beautiful neighborhood of Wilsonville, OR. The community offers walking/biking trails, parks, gym,
pool, and lots of local restaurants nearby. She has a tranquil garden and patio at the home’s entrance.
Salary range is $1800-2000/month and includes private furnished bedroom and bath, with utilities and internet

Care is needed for an average of 6 hours total/day. Overnight assistance is minimal, only on “as needed” basis.
The ideal match: female, non-smoker, CPR/first-aid trained. Experience with dementia preferred. Must have a
valid driver’s license, ability to drive, and be able to pass a background check. References will be requested.

I live nearby and will also remain very involved in providing support.

To apply, please email me at: Serious inquiries only, please.

  Send Message

Related ads

Personal Service Worker

Personal Service Worker (PSW) for 15 year old special needs girl Location: Lake Oswego Hours: Saturdays (morning or afternoons) and/or Sunday afternoons during the school year (hours can flex as needed); holiday vacations (if students are interested and…

Regular babysitter

We are a GFU family looking for a regular babysitter on Friday afternoons/evenings, and also other occasions 4-7p located within walking distance of the university campus. 2 kiddos, ages 4 & 7, full of fun and energy! $16/hr.

Customer Service Representative

Company Name: Guild Mortgage - Connor Daley Company Address: 700 Deborah Rd #100, Newberg, OR 97132 Company Website: Email: Job Title: Customer Service Assistant ll Telephone: (443) 207-0852 We are…

Infant Care needed on Tuesday's and/or Wednesday's

Infant Care needed on Tuesday's and/or Wednesday's Pay $20/hour We are looking for someone to watch our 8 month old baby on Tuesday's and/or Wednesday's from 11-2pm in our home in Newberg (near Jaquith Park and walking distance from campus) throughout…

Childcare Providers for MOPS

MOPS needs volunteers to watch children during their meetings.  See flyer below.

Report this ad