IDEA Center
09/27/23 18 Hits

Personal Service Worker (PSW) for 15 year old special needs girl

Location: Lake Oswego

Hours: Saturdays (morning or afternoons) and/or Sunday afternoons during the school year (hours can flex as needed); holiday vacations (if students are interested and available); and/or summers (can be full-time during summer months if desired)

Ideal Candidate: Student who is interested in social work, counseling/therapy, OT/PT, teaching or psychology

Pay: $16-20/hour

Our family is looking to hire a 1:1 ‘aide’ to work with our 15-year old daughter during the summer months and occasionally on weekends/holiday breaks during the school year. Although we are the employer, payment is made through the State of OR/Clackamas County and requires background check and a short online training program (paid). Great opportunity for someone looking for more ‘hands on’ experience with special needs kiddos and great for resume-building experience. 

Responsibilities: PSWs help our daughter organize her day (or time they’re together), practice skills (everyday living, shopping, cooking), work on reading and Barton drills (for dyslexia), working on projects (like reorganizing her room), homework during school year, etc. This allows dad to work from home during the summer months when she’s out of school and allows mom to work at the hospital where she’s a full-time Chaplain including Saturdays. During the school year, it can sometimes offer a break to us individually or as a couple for a few hours during the day or an evening out.

Background: Our daughter was adopted from foster care as a newborn but was drug and alcohol impacted at birth. She’s enrolled in regular high school classes as a freshman but is part of the local ACCESS program for kiddos on the spectrum. Although technically not autistic, she benefits from behavioral therapy, executive functioning supports and other scaffolding the program offers. Despite being impacted by ADHD, dyslexia and anxiety, she’s highly functioning and performing grade-level work.  But she does benefit from someone to guide her, help structure her time/activities, engage with her (but not parent), etc. She can be left alone for hours at a time but would fill that time with just spinning in her chair listening to music or watching TV. In the past, PSWs have organized field trips, library/museum visits, baking and cooking (including purchasing ingredients at the store), exercise or swimming sessions at our local gym, games/puzzles, sewing, etc—and sometimes even providing overnight ‘respite’ care (all hours are paid).

Happy to share more details with interested candidates and also put you in touch with other students who have worked as PSWs with our daughter.


  Send Message

Related ads

Friday babysitter for 4 year old

Our family is in search of a fun, playful and energetic babysitter who enjoys spending time with kids for our 4 year old daughter.  Must have a clean driving record.  Schedule: Fridays 9-3 (can be flexible). Additional days/time available if desired. We…

Infant Care needed on Tuesday's and/or Wednesday's

Infant Care needed on Tuesday's and/or Wednesday's Pay $20/hour We are looking for someone to watch our 8 month old baby on Tuesday's and/or Wednesday's from 11-2pm in our home in Newberg (near Jaquith Park and walking distance from campus) throughout…

Personal Support Worker

We are looking for a new (male) Personal Support Worker for our 19 year old (high functioning) Autistic son. He needs someone to mentor him in the areas of independence and hobbies. The job pays around $17 per hour - with up to 110 hours and 500 miles of…


I am looking for babysitters for Sunday evenings 6-8, Tuesday mornings 9-11am, and Wednesday September 27 from 5-9 My contact information is Rhonda Crosser 503-538-7468

Farm help

Jim Fisher is looking for help with his horses and around his farm.   6-12 hours a week, $18-$25 an hour depending on skill.   Please reach out to Jim Fisher at 503-519-6670 or for more information.

Report this ad